

General Assembly of Members WAN-IFRA WAN-IFRA FR

29 June 2023 12:00-12:30 CST (China Standard Time)

In Person

Taipei

Congress Venue - Nangang Exhibition Centre - Floor 7, Room 703

Online

https://uso2web.zoom.us/j/6641452867

Meeting ID: 664 145 2867

Agenda

- 1. Opening of Assembly
- 2. Approval of minutes: GAM Online, 17 June 2022
- 3. Membership development
- 4. Report of the Treasurer 2022, ratification of annual accounts
- 5. Election of Officers
- 6. Next Meetings

1. Opening of Assembly

President Fernando Yarza opened the meeting welcoming the Members. He explained that the GAM in Taipei would exceptionally be held both in person and online.

CEO Vincent Peyrègne explained that the voting procedure for the Members participating online would need to happen using the "chat with all" feature, in order to ensure transparency. To facilitate keeping count and record, only abstentions and negative votes should be expressed. Vincent proceeded reminding members of the contents of the



agenda and inviting all to download the supporting documents for the Assembly, available on the general assembly webpage.

2. Approval of minutes

The minutes of the General Assembly of Members held online on 17 June 2022 and made available to members ahead of the meeting were unanimously approved.

3. Membership development

Vincent quickly presented the highlights of the association's activities from the first semester of the year, which saw a wealth of initiatives both from the business and nonprofit side of WAN-IFRA:

In 2022, WAN-IFRA's income reached 11.6 million euros and delivered a final result of 223,000 euros: the sixth year in a row that the organisation posts a positive result. In the first six months of 2023 ,4.600 media professionals registered to our 90 professional events including workshops, conferences, webinars and trainings. 39 media companies and individual members joined WAN-IFRA's global network in the first semester of 2023.

4. Report of the Treasurer 2022, ratification of annual accounts

Treasurer Paul Verwilt took the floor to present the financial result 2022, made available to members ahead of the meeting. Mr Velwilt delved into both the balance sheet and the Profit & Loss statement. The final result 2022 is 222.944. The total gross margin is 4.558.550, with main drivers consulting activities and special projects; membership overperforming with delivery of new members; and the Zaragoza event thanks to the support of Henneo and successful sponsorship sales. The operating result is 270.738, with higher personnel costs due to the increase in variable salaries thanks to the positive results. Mr Velwilt showed that the equity on 1st January 2022 was 1.142.874, while on 31st December 2022 it reached 1.336.848 Euros, with equity adjustments of 53.195 due to exchange rates fluctuatio in Asia.

The members approved unanimously the ratification of the annual accounts.



5. Election of Officers

CEO Vincent Peyrègne started by expressing heartfelt thanks to 8 members who are leaving the Supervisory Board:

Eugene Abov, Vice President SPPI GIPP - Russian Federation.

Phillip Crawley, CEO And Publisher The Globe and Mail - Canada.

Hans Heinrich Dr. Coninx, Board Member Schweizer Medien Coninx.ch - Switzerland.

Warren Fernandez, CEO Asia Pacific Edelman Inc - Singapore.

Sophie Gourmelen, Managing Director & Publishing Director Le Parisien - France.

Markus Mair, Chairman of the Board Styria Media Group AG - Austria.

Masahiro Maruyama, Chairman and Executive Officer The Mainichi Newspapers - Japan.

Pal Nedregotten, Director of Technology NRK - Norway.

Pratap Pawar, Sakal Media Private Ltd., India.

Vincent subsequently presented to the Assembly the 11 new candidates to the Supervisory Board, noting that for the second year running the list includes a majority of women leaders, in a testament to WAN-IFRA's commitment to deliver on its strategic plan for Diversity and Inclusion initiated in 2017

Xenia Daum, Managing Director Kleine Zeitung - Austria.

Andrew Saunders, CEO and President The Globe and Mail - Canada.

Bérénice Lajouanie, Directrice Générale du Pôle les Echos et Thématiques Les Echos - France.

Mariam Mammen Mathew, CEO Manorama Online Malayala Manorama Company Ltd - India.

Sammi Bourke, Head of Operations Irish Farmers Journal - Ireland.

Shiro Nakamura, President and CEO Asahi Shimbun - Japan.

Martha Ramos, Chief Editorial Officer Organizacion Editorial Mexicana - Mexico.

Joanna Norris, Chief Content Officer Stuff - New Zealand.

Marte Ingul, Executive Vice President Community and Government Relations Amedia - Norway.

Ladina Heimgartner, Head Global Media & CEO Blick Group Ringier AG - Switzerland. Gavin O'Reilly, Executive Chairman The New European, UK

The Assembly elected the new Supervisory Board members with unanimous vote.



A total 33 current members of the Supervisory Board were presented for re-election and were confirmed:

Alessandro	Bompieri	Managing Director	Rcs Mediagroup	Italy
Alexej	Fulmek	CEO	Petit Press AS	Slovakia
Andrii	Vdovichenko	CEO	Burda media Ukraine	Ukraine
Andy	Budiman	CEO	Kompas Gramedia	Indonesia
Bartosz	Hojka	CEO	Agora SA	Poland
Ben	Assorow	Managing Editor	The Catholic Standard	Ghana
Cristina	Soares	Executive Board Member	Público	Portugal
Daniel	Dessein	Presidente	ADEPA (Asociación De Entidades Periodísticas Argentinas)	Argentina
Daniel	Van Wylick		Rossel	Belgium
Fernando	de Yarza López- Madrazo	President	Henneo Media	Spain
George	Shuang	Managing Director	United Daily News	Taiwan
Gerald	Grünberger	Managing Director	Verband Österreichischer Zeitungen	Austria
Hans	Väre	Editor In Chief	Sakala	Estonia
Libuse	Smuclerova	Chair of the Board of Directors	Czech News Center a.s.	Czech Republic
Marcelo	Rech	Executive President	ANJ (Associação Nacional de Jornais)	Brazil
Max	Garrido	Managing Director	Corporación Bermont	Spain
Miguel	Otero	CEO	El Nacional	Venezuela
Mujo	Selimovic	President of the Board	Oslobodjenje	Bosnia and Herzegovina
Nicolas	Pérez Lapentti	Chief Digital Officer	C.A. El Universo	Ecuador
Oleksandr	Chovhan	President	Ria	Ukraine
Paul	Verwilt	COO	Mediahuis	Belgium
Pierre	Louette	CEO	Groupe Les Echos Le Parisien	France
Rolf	Svendsen	Manager	Nxtmedia Lab	Norway
Sandy	Prieto- Romualdez	Chairperson	The Philippine Daily Inquirer	Philippines
Shanth	Kumar	Director	The Printers (mysore) Pvt Ltd	India
Sinha	Ratnatunga	Director/Editor-in-Chief, The Sunday Times	Sunday Times Colombo / Wijeya Newspapers Ltd	Sri Lanka
Stephen	Rae	Publisher	KOBN	Ireland
Stig	Ørskov	CEO	JP/Politikens Hus	Denmark
Thomas	Lindner	CEO	Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung	Germany
Tibor	Kovacs	Director	Ringier Kiadó Kft.	Hungary
Valdo	Lehari Jr.	Geschäftsführer	Reutlinger General-Anzeiger Verlags-GmbH & Co. KG	Germany
Vesa-pekka	Kangaskorpi	CEO	Keskisuomalainen Oyj	Finland
Victoria	Svanberg	Chairperson	Nya Wermlandstidningen	Sweden



6. Next Meetings

The next General Assembly of Members will take place in May 2024, alongside the World News Media Congress in Copenhagen, Denmark.

The President closed the meeting at 12:20.

WAN-IFRA President

Fernando de Yarza López-Mandrazo

General Assembly of Members Secretary

La enti

Elena Perotti